W Power Announces 2017 Scholarship Recipients


May 22, 2017 Sacramento, CA – W Power, a California based owner and operator of Community Energy Reliability Centers announced today the recipients of its annual college scholarship program. Students are selected who are majoring in science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) studies; exhibit personal or community leadership; demonstrate financial need; and plan to enroll in full-time undergraduate study at an accredited two-year or four-year college, university or vocational-technical school.


This year’s winners are:

Recipient High School Selected College College Major
Destiny Calderon Delano High School, Delano Cal Poly Architectural Engineering
Gerardo Parra Cesar Chavez , Delano Cal Poly Electrical Engineering
Jesus Lopez Cesar Chavez, Delano UC Irvine Civil Engineering
Raquel Pimental Contreras Robert Kennedy, Delano CSU Bakersfield Petroleum Engineering
Uyen Nguyen Magnolia, Stanton Cypress College Business Management
Patrick Quach Rancho Alamitos, Stanton Cal Poly Aerospace Engineering


“W Power has a strong culture of giving back to the communities in which we do business. We are pleased to be able to assist these worthy high school seniors as they embark upon their college careers”, said Kara Miles – President of W Power. W Power is a California certified woman-and-minority owned business enterprise (“WMBE”) focused on doing business in California’s energy industry.  W Power develops, builds, owns and operates community energy reliability centers (CERC).


Delano High Awards Ceremony         Magnolia High School Awards Night